Three-stage pearl car paint, also known as the basecoat, mid-coat, and clear-coat system. Two-stage basecoat is a type of paint that is applied in two steps. or do i use a binder for the flakes an then drop a couple coats of clear on top of the flakes mixed with the binder . I’m undertaking a gelcoat project my my recent purchase of a ranger bass boat. When painting with pearl I usually mix my pearl right into my clear coat. I don’t think I’ve ever ran base coat. But we took the spotted-in Camry to a body shop because (1) it’s much easier to photo-graph someone else doing paint work and (2) they owed me a free paint job. Hey Robby, I did get and answer your last question. Rated 3.44 out of 5 ₹ 195.00 Select options. It’s a big file so it may take a bit to download. Platinum Silver Ghost Pearl adds Silver Reflection in Paint. I’m a spray painter and I have painted only Airplane panels. Here is a picture of what the dry cans of flake and pearl looks like by House of Kolor paints. I think you’re over complicating things. Motorcycles & Scooters. First, if you use a car cover, you need to make sure it's clean. Ghost Pearls give color reflection in the sun. I Do appreciate your kind reply and urge the readers to signup for your fantastic course. Can you paint with pearl dust? The jumbo just looks too gaudy to me. You will lay the base coat (your black) then your inter coat — Your pearl and flake, then your candy over the top… then your clear coat. I plan on a silver barefoot with a sunrise pearl from house of kolor. At the moment the car is being restored and it’s multi colored. Metal flake can be a topic on it’s own but for now I’ll just briefly touch on what size metal flake to use in your first coat of clear or in a intercoat layer. When using white as a base coat for the pearl paint job, remember that any red-based paint will have a tendency to gleam pink in the sunlight. metallic paint is paint with metal flake sizes from .004-012 (or something like that) and anythin